Awakening to Injustice; Helen

It’s so easy to not really think about the words that come out of our mouths when we are singing along to something isn’t it? I remember once hearing a child sing along to the radio and suddenly realising how inappropriate the lyrics, that I often sung along to, really were. I hate to admit it but sometimes even when I’m in church worshipping I find it so easy to get caught up in how nice it sounds or how someone is clapping slightly out of time or how cool the worship leaders shoes are and I can completely forget the words I’m singing.

I can’t tell you how many times I must have sung Brooke Frasers’ Hosanna before I really thought about what I was asking God to do. If you don’t know it, the lyrics to the bridge say, “heal my heart and make it clean, open up my eyes to the things unseen, show me how to love like you have loved me. Break my heart for what breaks yours, everything I am for your kingdoms cause, as I walk from earth into eternity.”

I remember singing this one day and saying to God “okay, let’s do this- break my for what breaks yours, use me for what you want” and I remember sobbing as God showed me a glimpse of the sorrow he has for the poor, those without freedom and those who are oppressed. Since then God has been continually breaking my heart for what breaks his and it has changed my perspective on life! As He has opened my eyes to unseen injustices, behind so many things I take for granted, my actions have changed too. I can’t justify buying so many pieces of clothing that I just don’t need, while the people that made them are forced to carry on in the cycle of poverty. I can’t ignore a person begging on the street when I’m reminded that they are God’s dearly loved son or daughter. When God opens our eyes we see everything differently and we can either choose to change how we do things or grow hardened to His perspective. My prayer is that I would keep trying to change the way I do things to live in a way that brings life to everyone I come into contact with. I don’t get this right probably even half of the time but I have to keep trying and when I fail all I can do is ask for God’s forgiveness and accept His unending grace.

This week I was struck by a speaker I heard who said “Pity cries then leaves, but compassion stays.” I think this sums up so well why I’m involved with Just Love in Glasgow; I don’t want to just see the problem of injustice and be moved by it, I want to stay and join with God in the midst of it, as He brings about His plans of justice and righteousness! I don’t know fully how this will look yet, but I’m so excited to find out.

Leave a Reply

